Uncategorized

Farewell Interviews Part II: Justin Lee

In this post, we get a view into Justin’s dark, twisted mind…  But actually, it was a lot of fun to interview Justin, and Mads won’t be the same without him next year.

IMG_20170501_121609.jpg

Major: Sociology and Computer Science

Favorite Mads piece: “Selig Sind die Toten”

Other campus engagements: Nothing, this is the only club I’m in

Fun fact: Never lived on Lower during my four years here

Best pizza toppings: One side Hawaiian, the other side buffalo or BBQ chicken

Claudia: So, what made you decide to join Mads?

Justin: I was in the school’s Mads all through high school, so I just kind of continued.

C: Yeah, so it was the natural choice from there.  And then, why “Selig” your favorite piece?

J: Let me think about that.  I like the way the dynamics worked.  I forget the words, but it was a part where the tenors and the basses had this harmony going.  I forgot the exact part, but I really liked that.

C: You’re into those nice male duets then?

J: Yeah.

C: So, what are some of your favorite memories you’ve had of Madrigals?

J: Well, if I remember them, they must not be good memories… Clearly they must not have been good enough if I remember them.

[Cue intense background laughter]

C: Okay, is that all you have to say on the matter?

J: I don’t know, how about…I guess any time my card got chosen in Cards Against Humanity.

C: Fair, winning is nice.

J: Oh yes, but also having everyone agree that the card they chose was arguably terrible, but that’s the name of the game, so…

C: Yeah, true.  Alrighty then, what makes Mads special and worth your time?

J: Good music.  Good…I would say songs, but actually pieces.  Is this also where I’m supposed to say great members as well?

C: I mean, if you don’t feel that way I’m not going to drag it out of you…

[Justin is absolutely brutal lol]

J: Yeah, I like the people.

C: That’s good, we like you too!  We hope you like us back…  What advice do you have for future members and current underclassmen?

J: Specifically pertaining to Mads?

C: Not specifically pertaining to Mads, per say, but just to us.  It doesn’t have to be about Mads, but it’s to Mads, like as friends and as colleagues.  As fellow singers, and as people you know.

J: Hmm, I don’t know…Tips…advice…message to live by…Bye forever?

[can always count on Justin for absolutely brutal responses lol]

C: Is that what you have to say?

J: I don’t know…  It’s better to go sharp than to go flat!

C: Alright, I like that!

J: I always go sharp, so that’s why.

C: So, what are your hopes for Madrigals in the future as an organization?

J: Well, it would be great if we expand maybe, not in size, but in influence/people who know about us.

C: Yeah, that would be great!  Having publicity, having people actually know what we are and what we do…  Are you interested in continuing singing in the future?

J: Yeah, I’m interested.  I don’t know if it does, when, but I’d be interested.

C: Okay, that’s good to know.  What are you doing after you graduate?

J: No clue!  I have no clue.  I might be in the military for the next couple of years, I might not.  Who knows?

C: Like here, or..?

J: No, I haven’t fulfilled the requirement with my Korean citizenship.

C: Oh right, I forgot you have dual citizenship.

J: Or is it my time to defect..?  There’s only one true Korea…

C: Alright, well it’s fine to have no plans!  You still have a lot of times left to decide things.

J: Questionable, whether there’s a lot of time left…

C: You’re what, 21, 22 years old?

J: 22.

C: Yeah, you’ve got time. If you were like 45 I’d say you’ve gotta speed things up a bit, but you’re in a good spot right now.  And then, do you have any final thoughts on Madrigals, or music, friends, life, anything along those lines?

J: Hmm…I’m not someone with many “last words.”  Maybe, if you do know about the group, try to join earlier.  I came in my sophomore spring.

C: We had a good amount of time with you though!

J: Well, I’m not Tisi, so…

C: Very true.

Tisi in background: Yeah, you wish you were!

C: Sliding in second semester of senior year…  Alright, are those your final thoughts there?

J: Bye forever?  Nah, I jest…slightly.  Just slightly.

Leave a comment