Uncategorized

Farewell Interviews Part IV: Adam Li

Although Adam just joined his senior year, we’re so lucky to have been able to sing with him!  In my time in Mads, I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a rounded out bass section.  Anyway, without further ado, here is Li, our future doctor~

image1 (1)

Major: Biology

Favorite Mads piece: “Unicornis Captivatur”

Other campus engagements: Lab (Dana Farber Cancer Institute), Big Brothers Big Sisters volunteer, chemistry tutor

Fun fact: I have watched Frozen at least 10 times

Best pizza toppings: Steak, peppers, pepperoni

Claudia: So, what made you decide to join Mads?

Adam: Well, I’ve heard a lot about Mads for many years living with Josh.  It was my senior year, I was a busy pre-med student, not really engaged in many activities, and I figured senior year I needed to try something.  I’ve heard a lot about Mads, I have a musical background playing piano, so I figure just why not give it a shot?  And it was a lot of fun, I met a lot of great people, sort of stepped outside of my comfort zone.  It’s just been a very unique and interesting experience.

C: Alright, nice!  I’m glad you decided to join us this year, it’s been really fun.

A: Absolutely!

C: So why is “Unicornis” your favorite piece?

A: Definitely length and sheer difficulty.  It’s very long; we’ve spent a lot of time on it.  It was just seeing the final product, the fruition of all the effort that we put in, really made it, in my opinion, the best.

C: Yeah, it was really satisfying to have it come together!

A: ‘Cause I remember, it’s like a 34-page piece.  In a million years, there’s no way we’ll get through this!  But, here we are, we did it!

C: Yeah, I’m impressed with us, too.  What are some of your favorite memories you’ve had with Mads?

A: I’d have to say our first social gathering.  It was great just to get to know the people, playing Cards Against Humanity with the whole group, and having a little too much fun…drinking a little too much raspberry Rubinoff…

C: Yeah, that was a good time.  Four people blacked out I think?

A: Yep.  And then just singing “Welcome to the Black Parade” by My Chemical Romance, just belting that at like midnight…

C: That was amazing…

A: Yeah, it was a great, great memory.

C: It was a pretty awesome party.  So, what makes Mads special and worth your time?

A: I’m going to say, number one, the people.  The people are great, everyone’s very friendly; it’s just a great group to be in.  Number two, I don’t like, for lack of better words, half-assing things.  I feel like Mads, well, we dress up, we sing Renaissance music, we go all in.  That’s our identity and we really just fully accepted it and just pushed it as much as possible, and I really like that.

C: Alright, nice!  What advice do you have for both future members and current underclassmen?

A: I guess, don’t be afraid that you’re the worst member in the group because that’s what I thought.  I had no singing experience coming in, just sort of a musical background playing the piano.  I made a ton of stupid mistakes, but I guess from what I’ve learned, everyone does, and we just learn together and improve together.  Don’t be afraid to sing out!  Don’t be afraid to sing the wrong note; it’ll just get fixed.

C: Alright, I like that.  What are your hopes for Madrigals as an organization in the future?

A: Unfortunately, I won’t be there, but my hope is that it will just expand.  It’s always good to have more people in the group!  As Sarah said, it would be cool to have some off-campus singing adventures.  I mean, it’s probably not going to be to the extent of Chorale where you go out of the country, but if we could go on a trip to western Mass, or Rhode Island, New Hampshire, a nearby state for a weekend, that would be pretty awesome.

C: Yeah, we’ve been trying to do that for a couple years now, but every time there’s been some kind of organization issue.  Hopefully next year we’ll finally get it!  Are you interested in continuing singing in your future?

A: Yeah, absolutely!  I mean, this is my first experience, and it’s been a positive one.  If there’s a singing group in med school, I’m going to join it.

C: I’m glad!  Speaking of graduation, what are you doing?

A: I’m going to med school!  So, I’m going to learn how to be a doctor and hopefully help people and learn how to say doctor things.

C: Yup, that’s the goal, that’s all you do in medical school.

A: A.K.A. wear a suit, sound professional, pretend like I know what I’m doing… Hopefully I actually do know what I’m doing…

C: I’m sure you’ll get there eventually.  Oh, where are you going to medical school?

A: Right now, UMass Medical School.  Still waiting on the waitlistsbut it will probably be UMass in Wooster.  It’s a great school, I’ll save some money.  It’s just in Wooster, so I won’t be far.

C: Oh nice, so you’ll be able to stay in the area.

A: Yeah, see some family, have some meals at home.

C: Exactly, that’s what you have to do.

A: Mom drops off lasagna.

C: That’s the ideal situation.  So, do you have any final thoughts on Mads, music, friends, graduation, life in general?

A: It went by fast, so I guess show up to rehearsal!  ‘Cause there aren’t many.

 

Leave a Reply

